Some History about our Neighborhood
Johnny and Kay Compiano, a husband and wife team, opened this still-missed eatery new the Des Moines Airport in 1946. Its Steak de Burgo recipe made it into "Famous Foods from Famous Places", a recipe book from Better Homes and Gardens in 1964. Also popular were the creamy garlic salad dressing, french-fried onion rings, fried chicken, and on the weekends, the red cake with white frosting. the Compiano's remained in the restaurant business for many years after they sold the restaurant to the Hyatt House hotel chair in 1968. This picture is Johnny and Kay Compiano standing outside of their iconic restaurant in 1946. Des Moines Register photo and description.